CM Bhupesh Baghel felicitates 83 meritorious students of state-run schools studying in IIT, IIIT, NIT and Medical Colleges

CM Bhupesh Baghel felicitates 83 meritorious students of state-run schools studying in IIT, IIIT, NIT and Medical Colleges

Raipur: As many as 83 meritorious students of state-run schools were felicitated by Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on the occasion of International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples on August 9. These students had cracked entrance examinations held for admission in national level institutes such as Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), National Institutes of Technology (NITs), International Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) and Medical Colleges through their hard work and dedication. All these students were studying in state sponsored Eklavya Residential Schools, Prayas Adarsh Residential Schools and other schools run under state government projects.

Four students were felicitated by the Chief Minister in person at his official residence in Raipur while the remaining 79 students were felicitated on virtual mode. Anurag Lakra, Sandeep Kumar Tigga, Jyoti Rautia and Sakshi Bhagat were honored in person. All the 83 students were given cash prize of Rs 50000 each and a laptop.

Anurag (currently studying in IIT, Kharagpur) and Sandeep (studying in IIT BHU) had cracked IIT-JEE Advanced examination of the year 2021 and they were the students of Prayas Residential School, Saddu, Raipur. Similarly, Jyoti Rautia qualified NEET and she got admission in Medical College, Raipur and Sakshi Bhagat got admission in Medical College, Ambikapur. They were the students of Prayas Girls Residential School, Gudhiyari, Raipur.

Home Minister Tamradhwaj Sahu, Food Minister Amarjit Bhagat, Scheduled Castes and Tribes Development Minister Dr Premsai Singh Tekam, Forest Minister Mohammad Akbar, Parliamentary Secretary Dwarkadhish Yadav, Advisor to Chief Minister Rajesh Tiwari, Additional Chief Secretary to the Chief Minister Subrat Kumar Sahoo, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests and Chief of Forest Force Rakesh Chaturvedi were present at the Chief Minister’s residence.

It is worthwhile to mention, Prayas Vidyalaya is one of the important components of Mukhyamantri Bal Bhavishya Suraksha Yojana, under which meritorious students of Naxal-affected districts of the state are provided free education (class 9th to 12th) along with coaching of JEE Mains-Advanced, NEET, PET, CLAT, CA. Presently nine Prayas schools are functioning in Raipur, Durg, Bilaspur, Surguja, Kanker, Bastar, Korba and Jashpur districts in which total 4120 seats are sanctioned. So far, 70 students from these schools have attended IITs. 221 students NIT and IIIT and 772 students have been selected for admission in engineering colleges and 39 students for medical colleges.

Similarly, Eklavya Model Residential Schools have been started for quality education to ST students. In the academic session 2020-21, a total of 71 Eklavya Adarsh ​​Residential Schools are operating in the state from class 6th to 12th. There is a provision to admit 420 children in each school. A proposal has been sent to the Government of India for approval to start four new Eklavya schools from this academic session. If approved by the central government, the number of Eklavya schools will increase to 75.